EXPEDITION : TINGIJUQ

In mid-April 2018, I will commit to large-scale solo expedition in Kiteski and paragliding in the Pingualuit National Park region, more specifically in the area of Crater Pingualuit.

 

The 10 days in full autonomy expedition will start in Kangiqsujuaq until I reach the crater of Pingualuit. The expedition takes place in partnership with the Pingualuit National Park.

 

The journey will begin and end with training workshops and conferences with the Inuit community of Kangiqsujuaq to raise awareness the expedition, the practice of kite pulling, the construction of a  small kite  by primary students and secondary school and the introduction to free flight.

 

Subsequently, the expedition itself will begin with a 150 km journey using kites and pulka between Kangiqsujuaq and Pingualuit Lake. With the help of winds, following frozen lakes and rivers as well as low topography.

 

The second step of the expedition will be to perform many flight from the crater of Pingualuit in bivouac paragliding. This free flight circumference flight is a world first and a unique opportunity to discover the beauty of the Far North by the practice of free flying which is respectful of the local community and the environment.

 

The main objectives of the expedition are; initiate local communities and Innuit youth to practice of snowkiting as recreation and awareness of the practice of outdoor activity in the national parks of the far north.

Expedition : Tingijuq

À la mi-avril 2018, je réaliserai une expédition d’envergure en solitaire en Kiteski et parapente dans la région du Parc National Pingualuit, plus précisément dans le secteur du Cratère du Pingualuit.

 

L’expédition d’une durée de 10 jours en autonomie complète débutera à Kangiqsujuaq jusqu’au cratère du Pingualuit. L’expédition se déroule sur le territoire du Parc National des Pingualuit.

 

Le périple débutera par des ateliers de formation et des conférences auprès de la communauté Inuit de Kangiqsujuaq afin de faire connaître l’expédition, la pratique du cerf-volant de traction , la construction d’un cerf-volant de traction par les élèves primaire et secondaire et l’introduction au vol libre.

 

Par la suite, l’expédition elle-même commencera avec une progression de 150 km à l’aide de cerf-volants de traction entre Kangiqsujuaq et le lac Pingualuit. À la faveur des vents, en empruntant les lacs et plans d’eau gelés, ainsi que les parcours ayant une topographie favorable.

 

La deuxième étape de l’étape de l’expédition sera de réaliser plusieurs vols autour du cratère du Pingualuit en parapente bivouac. Ces vols circumferences en vol libre sera une première mondiale et une opportunité unique de faire découvrir la beauté du grand nord par la pratique de loisirs respectueux des communauté locale et de l’environnement.

 

Les objectifs principaux de l’expédition sont; sensibiliser les communautés locale et les jeunes inuits à la pratique du cerf-volant de traction comme loisirs, comme moyen de transport efficace; faire connaître et sensibiliser la population en générale à la pratique d’activité de plein air dans les parcs nationaux du grand nord.